The Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) risk mitigation center of excellence secretariat for Eastern and Central Africa (ECA) was launched on 2nd December 2021. The event was graced by representatives from a broad range of ministries and institutions in Kenya, diplomatic community from CBRN Centers of Excellence (CoE) partner countries, EU member states and other partner nations with a mandate to address CRBN risks.

The CBRN CoE is an initiative of the European Union (EU), jointly implemented by the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) and the European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC). The ECA region is on of the eight established across different regions in the world.

The 11 partner countries of the secretariat for the ECA region are Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda ,Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

The regional Secretariat is hosted by the Kenya Nuclear Regulatory Authority at KASNEB Towers II offices in Upperhill, Nairobi.